搜尋網站

香港投資基金公會數據顯示強積金投資者或忽視平均成本法和分散投資的好處


香港投資基金公會(基金公會)最新數據指出平均成本法(Dollar-Cost Averaging)和分散投資為強積金成員帶來明顯好處。

平均成本法策略主要是定期持續作出投資。縱觀基金公會的26個強積金基金類別,平均成本法策略在大部分基金類別的1年及3年平均回報均優於一次性投資(Lump Sum Investing)。在強積金制度下,強積金成員定期作出供款,實際已應用了平均成本法策略,受惠於此方法帶來的優點。

此外,由於不少成員較集中投資於香港市場,未必充分把握到近年全球市場的升勢,顯示出分散投資對風險管理及掌握投資機遇的重要性。

截至2024年1月的12個月,基金公會 26個強積金基金類別中有12個實現正回報。(附表一:按一次性投資計算)隨著投資者對全球經濟衰退的擔憂減退,環球股市造好,美國和日本股市屢創新高。日本股票基金表現在所有強積金基金類別中排名第一,在過去12個月漲升21.9%,其次為美國股票基金和環球股票基金。

中港股市則由於投資者擔心中國經濟而持續走弱,香港和中國股票基金平均分別下跌30.8%和30.1%。港元債券基金、亞洲債券基金和環球債券基金分別上升3.2%、0.6%和0.06%。人生階段基金類別,即投資組合包括股票和債券的基金,則錄得低單位數下跌。

基金公會退休金委員會聯席主席曹偉邦先生表示:「我們預計市場在龍年將繼續波動,經濟增長、利率和地緣政治事件的不確定性將影響市場表現,而11月的美國總統大選將進一步加劇不確定性。」

平均成本法表現優於一次性投資

基金公會比較以下兩種方式的回報:一)開始時即一筆過進行投資;二)平均成本法(強積金采用的模式),期內每月底供款1000港元。若以後者方式投資,大部分強積金基金類別的1年及3年平均回報均佔優。截至2024年1月的1年間,在26個強積金基金類別中,平均成本法在17個基金類別中表現更優勝。同樣地以3年計,平均成本法於 20個基金類別中表現更好。(附表二)

曹解釋:「投資者經常試圖擇時,希望低買高賣。但事實上,我們最終可能做出相反的舉動,因為沒有人能預測未來的市場走勢。通過堅持有紀律、有效且簡單的平均成本法投資策略可以緩和價格波動對投資的影響,『拉勻』平均投資成本,並利用複息效應以實踐財務目標。」

平均成本法有助投資者保持有紀律的投資,緩和投資巿場的短期波動;但在個別情況,例如在升市時期進行一筆過去投或可帶來更高回報。

錯失全球市場升勢

強積金成員側重投資本地市場或令他們錯過了環球市場過去數年的升勢。根據強制性公積金計畫管理局截至2023年6月的資料,香港股票佔強積金基金整體資產的30%,為各類別中最高,而存款及現金亦佔約16%。(附表三)

曹補充:「過往幾年的高息環境令不少投資者採取較保守的投資策略,並增持現金。在新的農曆年,我們認為債券和股票類別比現金更有潛力提高總投資回報。強積金成員以及各投資者應該積極靈活應對市場變化,做出明智的投資決定。在當前的地緣政治和宏觀經濟充滿不確定性的環境下,強積金成員應特別注意應對市場波動,並進行分散投資(股票或/及債券)以更好管理風險。」

強積金計畫提供多元化的基金選擇,能有效進行分散投資以降低風險,並提高長期潛在回報。例如預設投資策略(DIS)及人生階段基金均投資於環球市場的不同資產類別。

(完)

21 04 2024 05:33:27am

Search the site

Dollar-Cost Averaging and Diversification Benefits Might Be Overlooked by MPF Members, HKIFA Data Shows


The dollar-cost averaging (DCA) and diversification investment approaches have proven advantages for Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) members, according to data from the Hong Kong Investment Funds Association (HKIFA).

DCA strategy, which typically involves making investments on a regular basis, outperformed lump-sum investing (LSI) across the majority of HKIFA’s 26 MPF categories over 1-year and 3-year periods. DCA is embedded in the MPF system as employees make regular contributions to their MPF funds; and thus they are already availing of the benefits of DCA.

In recent years, some MPF members might not have fully captured the stellar returns delivered by the surging global markets as there is a concentration of MPF assets in the Hong Kong markets. This underscores the importance of portfolio diversification for risk management purposes as well as for access to more opportunity sets.

In the 12 months ending January 2024, 12 out of 26 HKIFA MPF categories posted positive returns. (Appendix Chart 1 – based on lump sum investments). The global equity markets have rallied, with U.S. and Japanese equities reaching new highs as fears of a global recession seem to recede. Japanese equity funds came first by returning an average 21.9% during the period, followed by U.S. equity funds and global equity funds.

In contrast, China and Hong Kong equities continued to post lacklustre returns amid concerns over China’s economy. Hong Kong and China equity funds saw an average 30.8% and 30.1% decline respectively in the same period. HKD bond funds, Asian bond funds, and global bond funds demonstrated resilience by rising 3.2%, 0.6%, and 0.06% respectively during the period. Lifestyle funds, with an investment mix of equities and bonds, dipped by a few percentage points.

Mr. Philip Tso, co-chair of the HKIFA Pensions Subcommittee, remarked: “In the Year of the Dragon, due to uncertainties in economic growth, interest rates, and geopolitical events, we expect to observe volatility in the markets. The implications of the November U.S. presidential election will further contribute to this mix.”

DCA Outperforming LSI

Comparing the returns by 1) a lump-sum investment at the beginning of the stated period; and 2) DCA with an HKD 1,000 contribution at the end of each month over the stated period, the latter yielded better average returns in the majority of the 26 HKIFA MPF fund categories over the 1-year and 3-year periods. (Appendix Chart 2)

Over the 1-year period as of January 2024, 17 out of 26 categories performed better by adopting DCA approach. Similarly, over the 3-year period, 20 out of 26 categories achieved outperformance with DCA.

“Investors often attempt to time the market, hoping to buy low and sell high. In reality, we might end up doing the exact opposite, as no one can predict future market movements. By adhering to a disciplined, effective, yet simple dollar-cost averaging investment strategy, investors can mitigate the impact of price volatility, and harness the power of compounding to achieve their financial goals,” Tso said.

While DCA helps people to make a disciplined investment approach and helps in smoothing out short-term volatilities, there are scenarios under which investing in lump sums may result in higher returns, e.g. when the market is rising.

Missed Opportunities in Global Markets

MPF members might have missed out on the latest bull run of the global markets, because there is a strong home bias. Hong Kong equities still accounted for 30% of MPF funds’ overall asset allocation, the highest amongst all categories, according to data from the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) as of June 2023. Deposits and cash levels were at 16%. (Appendix Chart 3)

“With the high interest rate environment over the last couple of years, many investors took a conservative approach to increase their cash positions. In this lunar year, we see opportunities in fixed income and equities that are likely to offer far better potential for total returns. We believe investors including MPF members should need to adopt an active approach and flexible mindset to make informed investment decisions,” Tso commented.

“Under the current environment especially on the geopolitical and macro aspects, MPF members should pay extra attention to possible volatility and exercise a diversified investment strategy (equities vs bonds, and within both asset classes as well) to manage the unexpected risks,” he added.

The MPF scheme offers a diverse range of fund options, allowing members to diversify their portfolios to reduce risks and potentially improve their returns in the long term. For example, the Default Investment Strategy (DIS) and lifestyle funds adopt globally diversified investment principles and invest in different asset classes.

(END)

13 07 2024 03:23:44am